Thoughts from The Queen Bee

Silver Fox?

 A couple of days ago I did a post about always presenting a polished and professional image as you went about your day to day business. One of the questions I posed was “are my roots showing?”

My family is blessed with thick, naturally curly hair that we don’t lose as we get older, but the trade off is that we go grey early. At age nineteen I saw the first strands of what was to become a distinctive white streak at the front of my hairline, which is a genetic mutation passed down from my mother. I affectionately referred to it as my witch’s streak, and I would most probably have been burned for a witch if I had the misfortune of living in Salem in the 1600s.

Fortunately, I don’t, so it has been an oddity that has mostly been disguised by hair colour over the years, and I was never too perturbed when it started to grow in again from the roots. However, at some point over the last 10 years, other things started growing in from the roots…..yes, the dreaded grey hair! Now I have been blessed genetically with grey hair that is actually silvery white, so it is rather an attractive colour. That doesn’t mean I was ready to go grey.

So, over the past several years, I have fought the good fight, held the line, and refused to give into the inevitable. Unfortunately, I have also been blessed with hair that grows quite quickly, so every two weeks, I start to develop a white stripe right down the middle of my head….no-one can rock the skunk look!

After much deliberation, I have decided to embrace my silvering hair, and am letting the colour grow out. This means daily ponytails to disguise the “skunk” stripe until my hair is long enough that I can cut the colour off without looking like I’ve been given a military haircut, which looks stunning on supermodels, but on me? Not so much.

While I wait for “the big cut”, I’ve been looking at images of celebrities who have gone for the grey, and it’s beautiful. What do you need to rock the look? A beautiful smile, a little more makeup than I’ve worn in years (white/grey hair can leave you looking washed out) and for me, a new pair of bold funky glasses.

So wish me luck, and watch for my new profile pick in the near future….maybe for Christmas?

Comments on: "Silver Fox?" (2)

  1. Women today are going natural grey and I think that is sexy.. I can’t wait for the day that mine is fully grey.. you are beautiful inside and out.. I know you will look awesome. Hugs sista

Leave a comment

wicksandwords.ca/

Candles are always the answer.

Wicks and Words

Celebrating books and candles.

A Kinder Way

...to walk this earth.

Mike Michalowicz

Eradicate Entrepreneurial Poverty

Re:Focus

Thoughts from The Queen Bee

Indie Business Blog

Leadership and Personal Development For Small Business Owners